Wednesday Card Day – Simple Birthday Cards (October 10, 2012)

For today’s Wednesday Card Day, I made 3 simple birthday cards that can easily be replicated or altered to fit the recipients personality. I love making birthday cards because they come in so handy and everybody you know will at some point celebrate their birthday.

Happy Birthday Flowers

For this card, I started with some cream card stock from The Paper Company and layered it at the bottom with patterned paper from ColorBok’s Miso Pretty 12×12 paper pad. For added interest, I attached a border strip with the Martha Stewart Crafts Arch Lattice edger on brown card stock. Then using brown chalk ink, I stamped the Happy Birthday sentiment from the Operation Write Home stamp set by Hero Arts. I finished it off with a flower row using the Imaginisce Princess Petals stamp with the same brown chalk ink.

Hi Cupcake! 

All the papers I used for this card (card stock and patterned paper), are paper scraps that I wanted to use up. I used a light blue card stock and layered it with a plaid patterned paper. I got a strip of a marble effect paper and attached a border strip using the Martha Stewart Arch Lattice Edger. Then I got some cream card stock and stamped the Hi Cupcake sentiment from the Cupcake Stamp Set from TPC Studio with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. To finish the card, I used a Sakura white gel pen to create a faux stitching line around the card. The entire lay-out of the card is proof that I have been watching too many card videos of Kristina! 🙂 🙂 🙂

A Cupcake Birthday 

I used black card stock for the base of this card from The Paper Studio. For the neon background, I used a similar chevron technique that Kristina Werner (@starofmay) used in one of her Friday Focus videos. I used just regular neon computer for this. Using the TPC Studio Cupcake stamp set, I stamped this trio of cupcakes and used permanent markers to color it in. I adhered it on to the card using dimensional adhesive. I stamped the Happy Birthday sentiment from the Cupcake and Ice Cream Snag ‘Em collection from Imaginisce. I layered that with some blue neon computer paper made made ribbon edges. To finish the card, I used a Sakura white gel pen to create a faux stitching line around the card.

Enjoy making your own birthday cards! It’s definitely a lot of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

