Wish Big – 10 Minute Craft Dash

Hey everyone! 

CD_23

Today I will be sharing a card I made for the 10 Minute Craft Dash over at Paulina’s blog (Pretty Pink Posh) The 10 Minute Craft Dash is celebrating its 1st birthday and Paulina has created an amazing bloghop for this. Along the way, there will be prizes for comments made throughout the bloghop. As I was blog hopping, let me tell you the inspiration was just sky high. Thanks Paulina for an amazing event – I am officially in love with chickies 🙂 🙂

As I was about to start this card, I got my supplies ready. I decided to use some circle and scallop punches and I also decided on which pattered paper I wanted to use. I also prepared my card sketch. I honestly thought that this would be a piece of cake.  I did get a giant wake up call about how challenging creating a card in 10 minutes would be. 

So here is my card 

wishbig1

 

 

I finished this in 9 minutes and 51 seconds.

I started with a cream card stock as base and to that I adhered a piece of yellow pattered paper from ColorBok’s Beach House Collection to cover the entire front of the card. For the images and sentiment, I stamped a mini set I got from Hampton Art. I colored the owl and sentiment using the American Crafts Chromatix markers. I cut them out using 3/4 inch circle punch. To add more color, I punched out 3 1-inch scallops from some red tone on tone plaid paper from the same ColorBok collection to back the circle pieces. This was all done at the 7 minute mark. At this point, I knew the only thing I had to was to tie some twine on the left side of the card and I would finish this in approximately 8 minutes. 

Then things got a little crazy – I realized that I didn’t like the twine so much and maybe a border strip would look better. So I rummaged through my drawer and looked for my Martha Stewart Lattice Edge punch and I was in fast forward mode. I punched both ends of the red paper and glued a strip of the yellow paper at the center for some contrast. And that was it – as I pressed stop, I had 9 seconds to spare. Whew!!!! That was a close one. 

SUPPLY LIST
1. Neenah Creative Collection Natural card stock
2. ColorBok Beach House Collection patterned paper
3. Hampton Art Birthday Owl Mini Set
4. Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
5. American Crafts Chromatix Markers
6. The Paper Studio 3/4 cirlce punch and 1 inch scallop punch
7. Martha Stewart Edge Lattice Border punch
 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wish Big – 10 Minute Craft Dash

Leave a Reply

