SSS October Kit Card #2 – Giving Thanks

*** This is my second card for the October Kit and have a few lined-up, so it will spill over until the first few days of November and then I will move on to the November kit. Sorry real life took over and October was just hectic and crazy. 

Hey everyone! Today’s card is an entry for the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

wednesdayblog-logo

 

wed-newchallenge-header

 

The theme for the challenge this week is —- ANYTHING GOES! 🙂

 

I got the inspiration for this card from this wall piece in my sisters house

wall inspiration

 

So here is my card —

Giving Thanks

 

I started this card with some Neenah Desert Storm card stock cut to a standard size portrait card. To that, I adhered different pieces of patterned paper from Lawn Fawn’s Into the Woods collection. I cut the paper to different sizes and placed it in different places for more interest. Then a piece on watercolor paper, I stamped the branch and sentiment in Memento’s Rich Cocoa ink. Because I knew that I would be using distress markers for the leaves, I decided to spritz the dye ink with some water to give it a watercolor look. For the leaves, I decided to use markers versus the distress inks so I could have different colored leaves. The distress markers I used were Crushed Olive, Forest Moss, Wild Honey, and Vintage Photo. Like branch and sentiment, before stamping I lightly spritzed the inked stamp with water for a watercolor look. To finish the card, I rounded the corners of the watercolor panel and adhered it with foam adhesives at the center.

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading. 🙂

2 thoughts on “SSS October Kit Card #2 – Giving Thanks

  1. Gorgeous card Malini 🙂 I love how you used the beautiful artwork in your sister’s home to create this ,, it is absolutely fabulous and a lovely way to use the kit ! 🙂

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

Leave a Reply

