SSS January Kit Card #2 – Love You Sew Much

Hi everyone! Today I am here with my second card for the January 2014 card kit from Simon Says Stamp. This kit is quite versatile and really has endless possibilities.

For today’s card, I was inspired by a tutorial that Jennifer McGuire did on her blog and YT channel. In this video, she stitched the sentiment “love you sew much” and I just loved it. Here is my take using her card as inspiration.

Love You Sew Much

I started the card with some Bazzill Basics card stock in marshmallow as the base of the card cut to a standard size card with the fold on top. To that, I adhered the grey and white patterned paper from Fancy Pants included in the kit. For the top panel, I used another piece of the Marshmallow card stock and stamped the sentiment, the hearts and the dash stitched lines in Memento’s Desert Storm. I wanted to choose a light ink so I could stitch above it and it would not be seen. Then the stitching started – I poked holes using a needle on each aspect of the card. I tried to make the holes as even as possible using the stamped lines. I used some variegated embroidery floss from DMC with different shades of pink.

For the needle, I decided to over it with a silver pilot marker, but true to who I am I messed it up. I didn’t want my hard work of stitching go to waste so I covered up the stamped needle with a real one. I attached the needle with glossy accents. I felt that the card was missing something and since this is a sewing theme card, I decided to sew in some buttons. These are very inexpensive buttons I got at Walmart.

To finish the card, I attached the front panel on to the card base with foam squares for added dimension.

That’s it for this card. I have a few more planned for this kit that will be posted in the coming days.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “SSS January Kit Card #2 – Love You Sew Much

  1. Pingback: SSS January 2014 Card Kit – Completed | My Little Pink Craft Kitchen

Leave a Reply

