Online Card Class – Stenciled

 

 

 

Hi everyone! I have been juggling many different things in the past few weeks and these next couple of blog posts are for me to catch up with many cards I haven’t blogged about.

This first post is all about the recent Online Card Class I took called STENCILED. It was an amazing class and I learned many techniques in using stencils. I blogged one card I made and I will share the rest of them in this post.

STN_participantThe first card I’m going to share is a Valentines day (sorry for the delay) card where I traced the stencils with colored pencils just like Kristina shared. Here is the card —

Happy Valentines Day - Stencil

 

I started this card with some Neenah Creative card stock in Wisteria cut to a standard size card. Then on a panel of Strathmore water color paper, I traced some hearts from a Heidi Swapp stencil using watercolor pencils. I intended to blend the hearts with water but at the end, I just decided to leave it as is and not add any water. I stamped the sentiment from SSS Only Have Eyes For You set in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I attached the watercolor paper to some black card stock. I punched the side with the heart border from American Crafts KnockOuts. To finish the card, I attached the black panel to the Wisteria card stock and drew some  dash lines with a white gel pen.

For my second card, I wanted to use embossing paste which has been growing in popularity very quickly. As quickly as I got excited about, I realized that I wasn’t really good at it and needed more practice to perfect it. I made two very similar cards, here they are  –

Love You - Mosaic Heart stencil

 

I used the SSS Mosaic heart stencil for the card. I used some ink pads to color the paste and then spread it out. For the one on the left, I used Memento Rose Bud ink and for the one on the right, I used Hero Arts Pale Tomato ink. I realized that its not that easy to apply the paste and it took me a while to realize that I had to load my spatula from the back – thus the splotchy mess towards the bottom of the heart. For the sentiment, I used the Love This set from Simon Says Stamp and customized it to say “you” instead of “this”

So these are the cards I created for the Online Card Class – Stenciled. Class may be over, but I will continue to use stencils on future cards.

That’s it for today! Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Online Card Class – Stenciled

Leave a Reply

