Thinking of You

Hi everyone! For today’s card, I used supplies from the February Card Kit from Simon Says Stamp. I really love this kit especially the stamp set which is so versatile and elegant.

I saw this card that Nichol Magouirk made with the kit and I wanted to do something similar. It was such a pretty card and I just fell in love with it. Nichol used shades of blue and green and stamped the images on Kraft. I wanted to use pink and emboss the images on vellum for a different look.

Here is my card –

Thinking of You

I started this card with white card stock cut to a standard size card. I also cut the pink stitched patterned paper from the kit to the same size to cover the entire front of the card. For the stamped panel, I cut a piece of vellum to 5 1/4 by 4 and prepped it for embossing with my DIY powder tool. I stamped the flowers and stems at the bottom of the vellum piece with Versamark and then embossed it with the Martha Stewart white embossing powder. I stamped the sentiment from the Thinking of You stamp set included in the kit also with Versamark and then I embossed it.

I attached the vellum panel with some glue dots which was a big mistake. I originally thought the glue dots weren’t going to be seen since I already used it before on vellum with another card. But as soon as I stuck the vellum to the card base, I immediately saw the glue dots. I couldn’t remove it without tearing the card, so as damage control I dug out some old sequins I had and tried to randomly place them around the card covering up the glue dots. I actually like it with the sequins so I’ll call that a happy mistake.

That’s it for this card. Thanks for reading! I will be back on Wednesday with a card and a new video. See you!

Leave a Reply

