CAS(E) THIS SKETCH CHALLENGE #83 – Happy Birthday and Many More!

Hi everyone! Im here today with an entry for the CAS(E) This Sketch challenge. It’s not a secret that I love flower stamps and this sketch by Gayatri really made me want to join.

CTS_Sketch83

I kind of made some choices that altered the sketch a bit, but I think the main components are still very much present. Here is my card —

Happy Birthday and Many More

I started this card with a 3 3/4 inch square panel of Neenah Solar White card stock. On another piece of Solar White card stock, I cut the dies from the More Fresh Cuts from WPlus9 and started building the flowers with a variety of inks from Hero Arts, Simon Says Stamp and Memento. I arranged the flowers like it was shown on the sketch and adhered it with different levels of thickness using glue and foam squares. The bottom layer of flowers were adhered straight down to the paper with a Zig glue pen. The second layer was adhered with one foam sqaure and for the top layer, I doubled  the foam for a rising look.

For the sentiment, I used the It’s Your Day set from Hero Arts and it is filled with many birthday sentiments and some can even be used for congratulations. I stamped the scripted Happy Birthday in Memento Grape Jelly ink. I wanted an embossed and raised feel and I learned this technique from one of Gina K.’s videos where she stamps first in VersaMark and then straight on the color and when you stamp it on your paper, the VersaMark is still there so embossing powder sticks to it. So you can customize any ink color you have with this technique. I tried it with different brands of ink and I think it works best with Memento Dye inks. Then for the banner sentiment, I cut the banner from Simon Says Stamp on some Wisteria card stock from the Neenah Creative Collection pack and white heat embossed another sentiment from the same It’s Your Day set.

I rounded the corners and adhered the panel on the same Wisteria card stock from Neenah cut a to a 4 1/4 inch square card with foam tape. To finish the card, I accented the flowers with the Wink of Stella clear glitter brush. For the center of the flowers, I used the Sakura Stardust pen for more glitter. I wanted to add some sequins but I decided against it since there wasn’t much white space left.

Please check the supply list below for all the products and ink colors I used for this card.

That’s it for this card. Thanks for reading


 

 

3 thoughts on “CAS(E) THIS SKETCH CHALLENGE #83 – Happy Birthday and Many More!

Leave a Reply

