You Brighten My Day

Wednesday Card Day Intro

Hi everyone! Today’s post is a Wednesday Card Day post — and yes I know it’s Friday but things have been hectic and I haven’t had the chance to sit down and write a blog post. Finally some free time came about and now I am sitting writing this post.

I really love the Simon Says Stamp Card Kits and there have definitely been a few kits that I cannot stop using and others which I don’t use as much. This months kit is definitely those “I cannot stop using” kits. I love everything about the kit and the stamp set is pretty awesome.

So here is my card using the April Kit – even though its already May 🙂

You Brighten My Day

 

I really wanted to have a pink and black color effect card since its one of my favorite combinations. I also love the stamp set and decided to use silver embossing powder. I’ve had the Zing silver embossing powder and for some reason it never gave me the metallic finish that I wanted. I recently went to Michael’s and saw their Recollections line and loved a lot of the embossing powders. I tried the silver and champagne which are now my two favorite colors and definitely has made Recollections my favorite brand of embossing powders after the Hero Arts white.

For the final embellishment, I have been recently loving sequins as it is growing in popularity. I found these sequins in my stash. My mom made a backdrop cloth for my sisters wedding and these were the extra sequins. There were a lot left so I took them to use for cards. I added the sequins inside the heart and on the inner border of the light bulb.

Here is a video of the card process which you can watch here or on YouTube.


 

SUPPLY LIST:
1. Simon Says Stamp April 2014 Card Kit  (Doodlebug black chevron paper, SSS exclusive stamp – You Brighten My Day)
2. Neenah Solar White card stock
3. Bazzil Candy Hearts card stock
4. The Paper Studio A2 Dots embossing folder
5. Vellum
6. Recollections Silver Detail Embossing folder
7. VersaMark ink 
8. Mini silver sequins 
 

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading and watching!

 

Leave a comment