Just Knowing You Makes Me Happy

WC_participant

Hi everyone! I’m here today with a card for the Online Card Classes current class – Watercolor for Card Makers. Before I share my card, I just wanted to inform my lovely readers that I will not be having a Wednesday Card Day video this week. I’m quite wrapped up with the class I wont have time to edit between my job and time I want to spend playing with the different techniques we are learning in class. However, I will try to post my homework cards everyday (which is what I have for you today). I will defintely have a video next week.

Now on to my first homework card –

Just Knowing You Makes Me Happy

The first lesson was creating watercolor backgrounds and Jennifer Rzasa showed a technique using stencils which I really found unique and interesting. Now I have a confession to make, I don’t really have a proper watercolor palette and I wasnt sure if I wanted to purchase one since I already had my Inktense pencils and Distress Ink pads and markers to use. So when I saw the Crayola 8 color Palette at my local grocery store, I decided to try and test my skills before purchasing a better palette. To my surprise, I loved the effect. This card was created entirely with the Crayola 8 color set and the paintbrush included.

On some Strathmore watercolor paper, I used 3 different colors – red, orange and yellow and I let them blend within each other. The stencil I used was the Chevron stencil from The Crafter’s Workshop. For the sentiment, I used the Color and Sunshine set from Simon Says Stamp using Staz-On Jet Black ink.

To finish the card, I adhered the watercolor panel on to a Bazzill Black Licorice card base.  I also added some Sparkling Clear sequins from Pretty Pink Posh and black enamel dots from My Mind’s Eye.

That’s it for this card. I will try to be back today with another homework card.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a comment