Thinking of You

Hey everyone. Today’s card is an entry for the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge. 

wednesdayblog-logo

wed-newchallenge-header

The theme for the challenge is ANIMAL ANTICS. I was hopping along the STAMPtember Blog Hop over at Simon Says Stamp and I came across this card from Jennifer McGuire. It totally blew my mind and I was in awe of her creative genius. I immediately fell in love with it and decided to try the same technique. Jennifer used the Lots of Dots set and the Big Hello die cut. I did not have any of those products with me so I had to improvise.

Here is my card —

Thinking Of You

I started the card with some Bazzill Basics card stock in Feather Boa folded to a standard size card and I used some Strathmore water color paper for a white panel.

I had a stencil of a bird and a heart that I recently got from Hobby Lobby that I thought would work great. Now for the dots…I originally thought of using a stylus to make the dots but then I saw the berries in the SSS Life is a Journey stamp set that I thought would work well. So I started stamping. I divided the bird into 6 parts so I could change colors easily. I used different Hero Arts shadow inks – Pale Tomato, Fresh Peach, Soft Cantaloupe, Butter Bar, Soft Pool and Tide Pool in that order. After I stamped the dots, I used my stylus to fill in some areas that were bare. I also used one of the hearts using the same technique in Pale Tomato Ink.

For the sentiment, I used one from the Hero Arts OWH Year Round Sentiments. I embossed it in silver embossing powder. To finish off the card, I adhered the white panel onto the card stock base with some foam adhesives.

SUPPLY LIST:

1. Bazzill Basics card stock in Feather Boa
2. Strathmore watercolor paper
3. StenWorks bird and heart stencil
4. SSS Life Is A Journey stamp set
5. Hero Arts Shadow Inks in Pale Tomato, Fresh Peach, Soft Cantaloupe, Butter Bar, Soft Pool, Tide Pool
6. Hero Arts OWH Year Round Sentiments 
7. American Crafts Zing silver embossing powder
 

That’s it for this card. Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thinking of You

Leave a comment